Skip to content

Official holidays

The Embassy in Canberra, the Trade Council and Consulate General in Sydney and the Trade Office in Auckland are closed on the following dates in 2017:






1 January

New Years Day X X X
2 January  New Years Day in lieu X X X

26 January

Australia Day X X
30 January Auckland Anniversary X

6 February

Waitangi Day X

13 March

Canberra Day X

14 April

Good Friday X X X

17 April

Easter Monday X X X

25 April


5 June

Queen Elizabeth II's birthday - New Zealand X

12 June

Queen Elizabeth II's birthday - Australia X X

25 September

Family and community day X

2 October

Labour Day - Australia X X

23 October

Labour Day - New Zealand X
25 December Christmas Day X X X
26 December Boxing Day  X X X
27 December MFA Closing Day  X X X
28 December MFA Closing Day  X X
29 December  MFA Closing Day   X X



Other closing days

Monday the 23rd and Tuesday the 24th of October 2017

Due to a regional meeting the Embassy in Canberra, the Consulate General in Sydney and the Trade Commissions in Sydney and Auckland will be closed.

In case of emergency please call the Embassy in Canberra on tel. no. +61 2 6270 5333 from where you can be connected to the citizens' service at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs for free.